Cailey's Blog

My thoughts about real estate, decorating, food and much more

Sunshine and Hot Weather calls for Tasty Recipes!

on 06/12/2012

Greetings Readers!

I hope everyone’s been enjoying the beautiful weather lately (and accepted the intermittent rain)! My husband and I were lucky enough to get to spend the past weekend at a beautiful cottage with some friends and I honestly can’t think of anything better during the summer days. Even if it is only June 12. Anyway, the weather has got me thinking I should post a couple of my favourite summer grill recipes, because who doesn’t love summer food?! Some of these are extremely simple (read: I am lazy) and some are well worth the extra effort!

Favourite Steak: Chipotle Marinated Steak!

This is super simple: Run to the store and buy a bottle of Diana’s Spicy Southwest Chipotle, some goat cheese and some steak. I prefer sirloin or tenderloin, but any good quality grilling steak will do. Pierce the meat, place in a shallow dish and marinate with the Diana marinade for about 4 hours in the refrigerator. Remove about 30 minutes before grilling so the meat can get to room temperature. Place on the grill, cook to your desired level of doneness and remove from the grill. Place crumbled goat cheese over steak and serve with potatoes and/or salad (and corn on the cob…you have to have corn on the cob!) SO delicious.

Favourite Appetizer: Guacamole

You’ll need:

3 avacados
1 lime, juiced
1 teaspoon salt
1 roma tomato, diced
1/2 cup diced onion
3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
1 teaspoon minced garlic (This is nowhere near enough for me, I use a few cloves, but you’ll need less if using a garlic press)

In a medium bowl, mash together the avocados, lime juice, and salt. Mix in onion, cilantro, tomatoes, and garlic. Refrigerate 1 hour for best flavor, or serve immediately.   Serve with tortilla chips.
(From Allrecipes)

 

Ok, I’m getting hungry writing about this. I also have an incredible turkey buger I want to share, along with some GREAT chicken with black olive aioli…plus many others…but alas I can’t remember those recipes off the top of my head. If you’re in the mood, give one of these a try. They’re both quite easy to make and absolutely delicious! If you like them, drop by again and try out some other recipes.

Until then 🙂

Leave a Reply

