Cailey's Blog

My thoughts about real estate, decorating, food and much more

Spooky Halloween Decorating Ideas

on 10/25/2011

Greetings Readers! Halloween is just around the corner, so I thought I would share some ideas for a frightfully fun Halloween home!

I’m a firm believer that on Halloween every home should have a freaky facade, and I do this a number of ways. Turning your front yard into a mini-cemetery is always sure to guarantee some scares. Changing one or two bulbs to black lights can also help create a spookier atmosphere (to me, lighting is the most important factor in Halloween!), and how about carving your address into a pumpkin and placing it outside? Of course, spider webs are another great Halloween staple and can be purchased for around $1 at any party supply or dollar store.

If you have an entryway, why not decorate it as well? Create an eerie feel by pinning dark fabric or even cheesecloth to the ceiling (only if you’re okay with a pinhole up there!) and add some spider webs to the walls. It’s a simple fix that creates big impact.

This year we’re throwing a Halloween party, so the interior of my home is more important to me than the exterior. Our spiral staircase is the centerpiece, with coloured mini-lights wrapped around the spindles and spider webs stretching from the staircase to the adjacent wall. It only took about 10 minutes and gives the house such a spooky feel! We have also switched out all our regular lights for coloured bulbs (I can’t even count the number of black lights we have!) and draped our food tables with heavy black fabric. I’ll be adding candles to my wooden fireplace along with the black lace I’ve draped over the mantle. For an added effect, there are a couple fake ravens on the mantle, which is again covered in spider webs (can you tell I love spider webs?). We’ll also be adding LED candles in the fireplace for a (safer) scary look.

My other personal favourite item is a carved pumpkin. It’s always fun to create your own design but if you’re not feeling very creative, why not check out what stencils are available? Pumpkin Masters provides free stencils on their website in a variety of difficulty levels, or you can buy a book complete with carving equipment at Walmart or Michael’s.

Now that I’ve written this I’m getting pretty excited to finish my decorating, and I think I’ll have to add some photos for you after the event! If you have any decorating questions I’m always here to help, and I’d love to hear any suggestions you may have!

PLUS: Later this week I will share some of my spooky Halloween party recipes, guaranteed to be a hit!

Thanks,
Cailey

Leave a Reply

